BJP to retain Lok Sabha Speaker PostTop Stories

June 18, 2024 11:38
BJP to retain Lok Sabha Speaker Post

(Image source from:

The ruling party has entrusted a prominent leader, Rajnath Singh, with the responsibility of forging a consensus within the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) regarding the positions of Lok Sabha Speaker and Deputy Speaker. Speculation is rife that the BJP may retain the Speaker's post, as it did in its previous two terms, while offering the Deputy Speaker's post to one of its allies. Given that the JD(U) already holds the Deputy Chairman position in the Rajya Sabha, there is a possibility that the TD could be offered the Deputy Speaker's post, which remained vacant during the previous Modi government's term. However, sources indicate that the Opposition camp is also considering contesting the Speaker's post if they are not granted the Deputy Speaker's post. Emboldened by their performance in the recent Lok Sabha elections, the Opposition aims to demonstrate their numerical strength by ensuring the ruling NDA's nominee does not go unchallenged. Nevertheless, the Opposition has yet to reach a final decision on this matter. The NDA currently holds 293 MPs, while the Opposition camp has 236 MPs. The next Lok Sabha Speaker will be elected on June 26th.

With reports circulating that NDA ally TD is eyeing the Speaker's position, the Opposition has even claimed they might support the TD's nominee. While the JD(U) has stated it will back the BJP's choice for the Speaker, the TD seeks to build a consensus within the NDA. Among the potential candidates, there are two prominent names: Bhartruhari Mahtab, a seven-term Lok Sabha MP who recently left the Biju Janata Dal to join the BJP, and Daggubati Purandeswari, a three-term LS MP. Mahtab is the current Cuttack MP, and Purandeswari recently won the Rajahmundry seat in Andhra Pradesh. She is the BJP's Andhra unit chief and played a key role in bringing TDP's N Chandrababu Naidu into the NDA fold, a move that proved crucial after the June 4 results, with the TDP emerging as a kingmaker with 16 seats and deciding to back Prime Minister Narendra Modi's third bid for power, despite active courting by the Opposition. Rajnath Singh will meet the Opposition and other parties to ensure an agreement on this important post, which has been filled by consensus since 2004. The Congress-led Opposition has been considering contesting the position. The political party leading the ruling coalition should claim the position, as they have the most seats. Sources from the opposing party have expressed that their primary concern is improving the financial situation of Andhra Pradesh.

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)