Bypoll elections: BJP wins big in 5 statesTop Stories

April 13, 2017 19:00
Bypoll elections: BJP wins big in 5 states

It is pretty sure that the charm of Prime Minister Modi will not fade away in the near future as the BJP on Thursday has won the Assembly bypoll election in Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh and Assam, while it is leading in Rajasthan as results poured in for the nine seats where elections were held on Sunday.

One of the shocking results for the BJP was handing a humiliating defeat to the ruling Aam Aadmi Party, which finished a distant third and even lost deposit in the Rajouri Garden Assembly bypoll in the national capital.

Madhya Pradesh:
The BJP retained the Bandhavgarh Assembly seat in Madhya Prades after defeating rival Congress by a margin of over 25,000 votes.

BJP nominee Shivnarayan Singh defeated Congress'  candidate Savitri Singh from the seat in Umaria district  by 25,476 votes.

The bypoll was necessitated as BJP MLA Gyan Singh got  elected to the Lok Sabha in November last year from Shahdol in a by-election.

BJP candidate Ranoj Pegu won the Dhemaji Assembly by-election in Assam defeating his nearest Congress rival Babul Sonowal by 9,285 votes.

BJP candidate Shobha Rani Kushwah wins Dholpur assembly bypoll, defeating Congress's Banwari Lal Sharma by around 39,000 votes.

Himachal Pradesh:
BJP candidate Dr. Anil Dhiman won the Bhoranj (SC) Assembly seat in Himachal Pradesh by 8,290 votes. He defeated his nearest Congress rival, Promila Devi by 8,290 votes.

New Delhi:
The BJP registered a staggering victory in the Rajouri Garden Assembly bypoll in the national capital.

BJP-SAD joint candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa bagged 40,602 seats, over 50 per cent of the total votes polled, in a  boost for the saffron party ahead of the April 23 municipal polls.


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)