Ministry of Sports Constitutes Committee to Review Sports AwardsSports Buzz

February 15, 2019 14:53
Ministry of Sports Constitutes Committee to Review Sports Awards

(Image source from:

Sports Ministry constituted a six member committee to review the different award schemes to increase transparency for awarding sports awards to the deserving athletes.

Justice (retd.) Indermeet Kaur Kochhar, headed committee will primarily review the Dronacharya Awards, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award,Rashtriya Khel Ratna Protsahan Puruskar, Arjuna Awards, Dhyan Chand Awards and Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad Trophy and

cash awards to international medal winners and their coaches.

The other members of the committee comprises of Shiva Keshavan, former star athlete Ashwini Nachappa, Mohandas Pai and Rajesh Kalra, Chief Editor of Times Digital.

The one last member will be a Director or Deputy Secretary of the ministry.

The committee can also change the schemes if required and also increase and decrease the amount of the cash awards.

The committee will decide the number of awards should be given in that particular year.

The six member committee will also review the eligibility and marks criteria of the sports awards.

It can also recommend the inclusion of new international sports events which in future can be considered for the cash award scheme.

Sports Ministry has asked the committee has to submit its report within 10 days.

-Sai Kumar

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)
Tagged Under :
sports ministry  Committee